The Village of Homer was incorporated in 1871, but its rich history dates back to the hardy pioneers who settled here. Powel Grover, William Wintersteen and two brothers, Richard and Henry McMurtrie, were the first pioneers to come to Homer. It was mid-April 1832, and they walked all the way from Luzerne County, Pennsylvania to settle on land three miles east of the area that later became the Village of Homer.
From the beginning, Homer has had a proud history of innovation in agriculture, business and industry, education and community development. Its services and infrastructure have evolved to meet the needs of area residents now and in the future. The sign on the village water tower proclaiming Homer Is Home reflects the spirit and commitment of the community.
Milton Barney arrived from Lyons, New York later in 1832, purchased land along the Kalamazoo River, and the next year brought his family to the area where he had built a log house, a store and a small saw mill using waterpower from the river. He built the first hotel, served as the first postmaster, and started the state? first wildcat bank. This cluster of buildings was the beginning of Barneyville, the village? original name that was changed to Homer in 1834 because James Hopkins and others from Homer, Cortland County, New York wanted the area named after their previous home.
For more information, click on job titles
None at this time